PTR #30 - Lessons learned from restarting my PT business.

+ a new section: one exercise variation for you to try in your next session!

The PT Roadmap

A weekly newsletter for personal trainers to guide you to become a better coach and build a better business.

Hey!

Thanks for opening up today's newsletter. I appreciate you being here.

Let's get into today's PT Roadmap.

One Coaching Cue

“Maintain 3 points of contact with the dowel - back of your head plus your upper and lower back.”

What's it for?

I had a new client start yesterday.

I couldn’t get him to maintain his back position during a hip hinge.

I tried all the cues.

I tried using the bum-to-wall drill that works for so many others.

But it wasn’t until I let him try the dowel that he got the proper technique.

It’s always nice to be reminded that people learn differently and why it’s wise to have other tools available when coaching something complex like the hip hinge.

New Section: One Exercise Variation

I see this section doing a couple of things:

  • exposing you to new exercises to try in your training

  • giving you new exercises to add to your client’s sessions

I say it in that order because you must try exercises yourself before giving your clients them. I’ve learned this one the hard way 😂 You learn a lot about how to coach a movement by doing it yourself.

I also want this newsletter to be something you open up and know will give you something you can take and use in your next PT session.

This very much fits that goal.

So, here we are! I’d love your thoughts, so please reply with a 👍 if you find it useful.

Recommended Exercise: Copenhagen Short Lever Plank

This exercise is deceivingly hard. I don’t know why, but I’ve never done or programmed it, even though it’s popular.

I’ve used cossack squat and lateral lunge variations, but I’d never tried this.

Man, it’s tough!

I’m wary of the fact I rarely train my adductors. I train everything else (apart from calves, as I’m now fully resigned to never having calves…), so why wouldn’t I find ways to train them?

It blows up your adductors and gives you a nice core and shoulder challenge.

Give it a shot.

Better Business

I recently restarted my PT business.

I’m running it out of my back garage.

I started as a PT 11 years ago in a small independent facility. I stopped 90% of my sessions four years ago to move to America and concentrate fully on Lift the Bar, but now I’ve stopped that; I’m going to build up a small, enjoyable and profitable PT business.

It has been fascinating re-entering the world of finding clients, putting myself out there and dealing with flakey leads and last-minute cancellations.

Here are some of the biggest lessons I’ve had so far:

  • High price point - I started charging clients £25 for a session ten years ago. Way too cheap. I’ve intentionally priced my sessions higher than I was comfortable with this time. I’m looking to be well-paid for the 10-15 sessions a week I do, so I made a point of pricing myself high. I know my service and training quality is high, but telling people my cost was still uncomfortable. I’ve yet to hear a “you’re too expensive” objection, so I’m doing something right! You are worth more than you probably think you are.

  • Free marketing means before paid - I’m up to 10-12 sessions per week and have yet to start a Facebook page or build a website. The main ways I’ve gotten clients have been through people I’ve gotten to know local to me and word of mouth. Use the simplest means to get your name out there (friends, family, colleagues, contact lists on your phone/ Fb/ email.) Once you’ve exhausted that, use other means.

  • Specific offer to specific people - I’ve targeted two groups: Dad’s and over 60s. Whenever I’ve been trying to sign up Dad’s, I’ve offered them my ‘60-day Dad’s Who Lift’ program and used language like “keeping up with the kids” and “getting back into shape”. Whenever I’ve been trying to sign up over 60s, I’ve spoken about my ‘Active60’ program and mentioned maintaining physical independence, reducing pain and strengthening bones. You want to tailor your offer to the person in front of you. These two programs are much the same in delivery, but I’ve edited the name and key features for the person so the sales process is more straightforward.

  • Just ask - This one has proven to be my most effective way to get clients. I’ve started asking people I know would benefit from PT. Neighbours, friends, parents I chat with outside my son’s daycare, and people who work in businesses I use often. I’ve been making a point of telling them about my PT work, and if they seem interested, I make the first move. “How about a free taster session sometime this week?” Sounds simple, but you may never get it if you don’t ask. Not everyone who wants PT will ask for it. They might be waiting for you.

  • 45-50 minute sessions - A super simple tip here. But I used to hate running 60-minute sessions. I’d inevitably end up running over with some clients and feel rushed. I also used to find myself clock-watching once we’d get into that last 10-minute period. It’s nice to take those 10 minutes to grab a snack or update client notes.

  • Boundaries - I do not take sessions between 6-8 am or from 3-730pm as those times are when I’m with my son. Those are critical PT times, yet my clients have worked around it. Clients are more flexible than we think.

  • Basic nutrition support - I’m not a nutrition coach but a PT who works mainly with clients on their training. I offer some basic nutrition support, but I’ve been very clear about what I will and will not offer my clients. I’ve had one client ask for more help and referred them to someone I trust. I’m just not interested in analysing food diaries or discussing food with my clients. I want to train them.

I’ll update this as more lessons are learned!

Better Coaching

Check-in with your clients in the 24-48-hour period following their sessions.

I posted something about this a few weeks ago, but it is worth mentioning again.

Especially if you’re training a new client, it is worth sending a check-in message to see how their body feels in the days following their session.

This does a few things:

  1. It helps you understand how their body responds to your training.

  2. It underlines your support and commitment to their training.

I’ve got a client who started with an achy left shoulder. Nothing major, but it was consistently giving him low levels of discomfort. So, I’ve made a real point of checking how it felt after our sessions. Sessions 1 & 2 were fine, but session 3 triggered something. I’m pretty sure it was because we introduced a side plank variation. So, next time, I know to reduce the volume on this or remove it entirely (depending on how it’s feeling when he next shows up.)

Following the above example, I’d also recommend doing this more often if you have a client experiencing pain. One of the best things you can do is better understand how your sessions influence their pain.

One Social Media Post Worth Your Time

I need these tips as my video on the Copenhagen Plank is horrible compared to some of Simon’s.

Thanks so much for reading.

Until next Friday, Stuart.