PTR #59 - The 9 essential tools that keep my PT business running smoothly.

Plus, passing the picture test and a script for using your network to get new clients.

The PT Roadmap

The weekly newsletter for personal trainers who want to build and run a great business.

Hey!

Thanks for opening up today's newsletter. I appreciate you being here.

I always try to write something human here.

Let's get into it!

Business

The 9 Essential Tools I Use to Run My Business.

Do you ever feel like you’re juggling a dozen tasks to keep your business running smoothly?

I hear you.

That's why I'm sharing the tools that help me run mine.

These apps have not only helped me stay organized and efficient, but they also allowed me to focus more on what I love: running great sessions.

  1. Stripe (payment software)

It's super simple to use, reliable, and easy for the client.

You can set up subscriptions so clients pay you monthly.

It also saves time when doing your year-end accounting, as all payments are in one spot.

  1. iCal (calendar)

I use the Apple one because it syncs nicely across my iPhone and Macbook. And I’ve used it for 10 years.

It’s where I organise my day in 30 min slots.

Without it, I’d be lost going into each day.

It’s well worth using a calendar to give your day a purpose.

Here’s my week.

  1. Excel (programming and business metric tracking)

I still use excel for my clients programs. It’s reliable and easy to use.

I also use it to track my weekly business metrics (active clients, consults booked, sales made, leads etc.)

Read more about tracking business metrics in this issue.

Good luck making sense of my acronyms 🤣

  1. Trello (task management/ prioritisation)

Trello is a nice piece of free software for task management. I use it to keep tabs on all I’ve got going on.

And to ensure I’m prioritising the right things and not just jumping around like a madman.

I have a ‘lists’ for things like 1-1 PT, mentoring and life admin. Each list has ‘cards’ that represent things I’ve got to do.

Remote PT sessions.

New client meetings.

Group coaching calls.

It syncs nicely with my call booking app (TidyCal - honourable mention for this. It’s a one-off $29 payment and works just like Calendly) and my calendar.

  1. Canva (content, marketing, random creative stuff)

Content.

Marketing materials.

Quick image changes.

Photos for presentations.

I use Canva every day. Even its free version is great.

  1. Active Campaign (email marketing)

Sending out email campaigns.

Creating autoresponders (pre-written emails that are sent automatically) for new clients and creating onboarding sequences.

Ensuring I have more than just social media for lead generation.

Its cheapest plan is $29 a month.

Mailchimp is cheaper and more user-friendly, but I’ve used this for years and like it.

  1. Grammarly (writing stuff.)

Big big Grammarly fan here.

I failed English in school. Grammar and all that jazz isn’t my forte.

Grammarly would’ve helped me pass.

It plugs into everywhere I write online, and it suggests improvements.

Its new AI tool is excellent, too. You can give it a caption, email or text you plan on sending and ask to make it sound more confident, funny, friendly, engaging etc.

  1. CapCut (video editing.)

I use this to edit videos for social media. Nobody wants pauses or ‘ums’ on videos on Instagram, so you use this to remove them and tidy them up.

It’s simple-ish to use, free and loads of other creators recommend it, so it’s gotta be good.

You can use it to add subtitles to your videos as well.

Extra mention to Dropbox/ Google Drive for storage and file sharing, Loom for sending clients videos and BeeHiiv for hosting this newsletter.

This Week’s Tip: Use Your Network

If you need clients and you’ve never asked your network (all the people you know—family, friends, ex-colleagues, school friends, etc.) for a referral, now is the time.

I did this when I restarted my in-person PT business last year. Every single person I knew received a text that looked like this, and it got me four clients.

Here is an example script you could send:

“Hey [insert name], as you know, I run a personal training business. I’m currently on the lookout for 3 more clients. Bills need paid, y’know 😂 If you or anyone you know is interested in [insert goal - e.g. getting in shape, improving their fitness, building strength for daily life], I’d really appreciate you passing on my details. I have a [insert offer. e.g. a 7-day free trial or 8 sessions for the price of 4] available to all new clients.”

Social Post

I liked this post from Joe Bennett about having high standards as a PT during your sessions.

If someone took a picture of you at any point during your client session, would you be ok with this being used as marketing?

Your attention is one of the things you can 100% give to your clients during their sessions.

It’s hard to be like this all of the time, but it is a standard we should all aim to attain.

I’ve worked with lots of PTs I know wouldn’t pass it.

Their attention floats away from their clients…

To the attractive person who just walked in.

To what another gym goer is doing

Or to their phones.

I’ve also heard this called being ‘active’ vs ‘passive’ when coaching.

Being passive might involve crossing your arms, sitting down, not moving, or looking disinterested in your client.

Being active would look like taking in different angles, using encouraging coaching cues, and generally showing you’re fully engaged in your clients session.

Thanks so much for reading.

Until next Friday, Stuart.

How am I doing?

I love hearing from readers, and I'm always looking for feedback. How am I doing with The PT Roadmap? Is there anything you'd like to see more of or less of? Which aspects of the newsletter do you enjoy the most?

Hit reply and say hello – I'd love to hear from you!

Want to score your personal training business and receive customised recommendations for improving it?

Take the PT Biz Quiz.

It’s free, takes just 2 minutes and will tell you where to dedicate your time so you can:

  • sign up more clients

  • improve your marketing message

  • and run a more systemised business.