PTR #61 - GTF late session cancellations.

How to handle one of the banes of your life as a PT.

The PT Roadmap

The weekly newsletter for personal trainers who want to build and run a great business.

Hey!

Thanks for opening up today's newsletter. I appreciate you being here.

I appeared on a podcast this week. It reminded me how much I enjoyed doing the Lift the Bar one. Maybe it’s time to start up a new one… Anyway, listen to my interview on the Fit-Pro Podcast here.

Let's get into today’s issue.

Business

How to Handle Client Session Cancellations

This newsletter is an updated repost from the middle of last year.

Ah, the bane of many a PTs life.

The late or last-minute cancellation.

On average, you’ll get 10% a week.

Book 20 sessions, and you’ll see at least 2 of them cancel.

But it’s not just a pain for you; it’s a big net negative for the client. They sign up to achieve their fitness goals, and not showing up gets in the way of that.

How to handle them is a question I’ve thought about a lot.

I only have a small number of clients at the moment, but I’m reminded weekly how frustrating it is to get cancelled on last minute and know you’re not getting paid.

(unless it allows me to sleep an hour longer or finish an hour earlier, in which case those are sometimes welcomed 😀)

So, let’s discuss how to handle them.

Firstly, get a policy in place & set expectations.

You need one of these.

It needs to be concise and explain exactly how you handle session cancellations.

The questions to answer include:

  • how much time do I need to give to cancel a session?

  • will I be charged?

  • how do I reschedule/ can I reschedule?

  • what happens if I show up late?

  • will extenuating circumstances (illness, family emergency) be taken into account?

  • what happens if you (the trainer) cancel a session within or outside of 24 hours?

When a new client signs up, this has to be part of their onboarding.

They are told in person how things work and then given a document they can sign to acknowledge it. This is important because it gives you a reference point should you need it in future.

Which you no doubt will…

If you haven’t got one in place yet, your task following this is to create one.

A quick Google search gave me these templates (1,2), which both look decent.

Second, decide on terms.

Most PTs handle cancellations by giving leniency over the first cancellation and any that fall into the serious and uncontrollable realm. I will never charge a client if they cancel on me for a family emergency or illness. I wouldn’t want a business to charge me for this, so I don’t do it in my own business.

That said, if a client texts me 5 minutes before a session to say they are ill and can’t make it, there’s a conversation to be had.

How you go about that conversation depends on the client, but I will not shy away from texting back, saying I hope they feel better soon and to please try and give me more time before cancelling.

Side note: I’ve often found clients who cancel at the last minute repeatedly are the ones I had a gut feeling about when they first started. Anyone else had this?

Third, use polite reminders.

If a client cancels with me within 24 hours, and it’s their first time and not a serious matter, I remind them of my policy.

“No worries, James. As a friendly reminder about my cancellation policy, it is chargeable if you cancel a session within 24 hours. I’ll waive it this time, but please try to give me 24 hours next time.”

This is also a good place to mention a tip my dentist uses that helps me plan for and attend my appointments: automated texts.

They send a text 7 days, 2 days, 24 hours and 2 hours before my appointment.

Each makes it easy for me to reschedule and reminds me I will be charged if I don’t show up or cancel out with their 12-hour policy.

It’s overkill, but it works.

Fourth, consider a monthly payment model.

Charging clients a monthly recurring rate can be a way to manage cancellations better, as you still get paid.

And you can build in the occasional cancellation into your billing.

For example, let’s say your weekly rate is £100 for a client (2 sessions @ £50.)

To calculate your monthly rate, you do this:

  • 52 (weeks in a year) - 6 (to account for 3 weeks of holiday for you and the client) = 46

  • £100 × 46 = £4600

  • 4600/12 = £383

  • Monthly rate = £383

You charge your client £383 via direct debit each month.

They can go on holiday, and you still get paid.

And if they cancel the odd session at the last minute, the pricing model covers it.

Remember - your business exists to put food on your table and a roof over your head. Not being paid regularly because (some of) your clients don’t take what you offer seriously is an issue that can be corrected by putting in place and, most importantly, enforcing your cancellation policy.

Do you do anything different to what I’ve written about here to handle cancellations? Reply if you do!

This Week’s Tip: Don’t use the whole quote.

Ever received a great testimonial from a client about your coaching?

And thought, “I’ll share this on my socials!”

One mistake I see PTs make here is sharing the whole quote as the image without shortening or highlighting the best part.

1-2 sentences max is my rule of thumb here.

Let’s say a client sends you something like this:

“Training with Stuart has been the best thing I’ve ever done. I’m stronger and fitter than I’ve ever been, and I’m living life to the absolute fullest because I have confidence in my body for the first time in 20 years. Our sessions are varied, yet challenging. I’m squatting, deadlifting and pressing weight I never could’ve imagined. Oh, and I’m fitting in clothes I could only have dreamed of a few years back!”

All of this quote is great.

But it shouldn’t all go on a quote post.

You want the meatiest, most relatable bit, which to me, is this:

I’m living life to the absolute fullest because I have confidence in my body for the first time in 20 years.”

That one quote could make an amazing post.

But if you add all the other ‘fluff’ around it, it loses its magic.

Social Post

Single-arm curls are not an exercise I’ve played with.

But I like Eugene Teo’s justification for them.

Why Single Arm Barbell Curls? 👇🏻
Rotation at the wrist/forearm/elbow is notoriously undertrained. If you’re training the typical extension/flexion actions but neglecting rotation, start exploring. You might be surprised just how weak it is!
I like higher reps here - between 15-20 since you'll have to go slower and lighter than normal to fight the rotational forces.
FYI this barbell is only 10kgs/22lbs. Most gyms will have either an EZ curl bar or group-ex bar that are lighter, so start there!”

I’ve got plenty of clients with elbow issues - maybe throwing this one will help!

Thanks so much for reading.

Until next Friday, Stuart.

How am I doing?

I love hearing from readers, and I'm always looking for feedback. How am I doing with The PT Roadmap? Is there anything you'd like to see more of or less of? Which aspects of the newsletter do you enjoy the most?

Hit reply and say hello – I'd love to hear from you!

Want to score your personal training business and receive customised recommendations for improving it?

Take the PT Biz Quiz.

It’s free, takes just 2 minutes and will tell you where to dedicate your time so you can:

  • sign up more clients

  • improve your marketing message

  • and run a more systemised business.